05-31-2018 06-08-2018
Skinner Website
Skinner Website Online
3103T Marlborough
May 31, 2018 10:00 AM - June 8, 2018 10:00 AMCalender

NASA Safety Helmet Signed by Twenty-six American Astronauts and Six NASA Scientists.

Auction: Books & Manuscripts - 3103T Location: Marlborough Date / Time: May 31, 2018 10:00AM


NASA Safety Helmet Signed by Twenty-six American Astronauts and Six NASA Scientists. White Superglas fiberglass safety helmet manufactured by Fibre-Metal Products Company of Chester, Pennsylvania, with NASA logo decal above the brim, most signatures in black permanent marker (two originally in red now quite faded), small images of Apollo 11 astronauts pasted on the brim next to their signatures; the helmet acquired by Spoor from NASA in November of 1968 and signed by: Neil Armstrong (1930-2012), first man on the Moon, Gemini 8, Apollo 11; Edwin "Buzz" Aldrin (b. 1930), second man on the Moon, Gemini 12, Apollo 11; Joe Allen (b. 1937), Capcom Apollo 15, Mission Control, Shuttle STS-5, Shuttle STS-51-A; Dr. Wernher von Braun (1912-1977), Director of the Marshall Space Flight Center and designer of the Saturn V rocket; Frank Borman (b. 1928) Gemini 7, Apollo 8; Alan Bean (b. 1932) Apollo 12, Skylab 2; Vance Brand (b. 1931) Apollo-Soyuz; Shuttle missions STS-5, STS-41-B, and STS-35; Eugene Cernan (1934-2017), the last man on the Moon, Gemini 9A, Apollo 10, Apollo 17; Michael Collins (b. 1930) Gemini 10, Apollo 11; Charles Conrad (1930-1999), Gemini 5, Gemini 11, Apollo 12, Skylab 2; Walter Cunningham (b. 1932), Apollo 7; Charles Duke (b. 1935) Apollo 16; Dr. Kurt Debus (1908-1983) Director, Launch Operations Center; Ronald Evans (1933-1990), Apollo 17; Gordon Fullerton (1936-2013), Shuttle missions STS-3 and STS-51-F; Ed Fendell (b. 1933), Mission Control Houston, Remote TV camera operator, lunar surface; Edward Gibson (b. 1936) Skylab 4; James Irwin (1930-1991), Apollo 15; Eugene Kranz (b. 1933), Flight Director, Mission Control; James Lovell (b. 1928) Gemini 7, Gemini 12, Apollo 8, Apollo 13; Thomas Mattingly (b. 1936), Apollo 16, Shuttle missions STS-4 and STS-51-C; Edgar Mitchell (1930-2016), Apollo 14; Rocco Petrone (1926-2006) Launch Director, Kennedy Space Center; Bill Poque (1930-2014) Skylab 4; Stuart Roosa (1933-1994) Apollo 14; David Scott (b. 1932) Gemini 8, Apollo 9, Apollo 15; Tom Stafford (b. 1930), Gemini 6A, Gemini 9A, Apollo 10, Apollo-Soyuuz (signed in red, faded, signed in black as well); Donald Slayton (1924-1993), Apollo-Soyuz, Director of Flight-Crew Operations, Houston; Russell Schweickart (b. 1935), Apollo 9; Terry White (1928-1993) Houston Apollo television broadcast, the "voice" of Mission Control Houston; Alfred Worden (b. 1932), Apollo 15; and John Young (1930-2018) Gemini 3, Gemini 10, Apollo 10, Apollo 16, Shuttle STS-1 (signature originally done in red, now almost completely faded away); [together with] a large binder documenting the collection of signatures, including photographs of the helmet in stages as the signatures were added; photographs of signers in the act of signing, including Borman, the first signer, adding his name to the blank helmet, and Eugene Kranz, the last signer doing the same; and others in between; [and] approximately twenty vintage NASA photographs of the people and missions of NASA. This unique artifact of the American space program could never be created again, collected, as it were, by a passionate fan of space exploration and the people who made the dream of walking on the Moon a reality. Spoor's role as a reporter for Dutch television brought him into contact with NASA astronauts and scientists, his instinct to collect and preserve NASA material for future generations culminates in this special helmet.
The Rudolf Spoor Collection of NASA Photographs and Ephemera
Estimate $20,000-30,000

The absence of a condition statement does not imply that the lot is in perfect condition or completely free from wear and tear, imperfections or the effects of aging. Condition requests can be obtained via email (lot inquiry button) or by telephone to the appropriate gallery location (Boston/617.350.5400 or Marlborough/508.970.3000). Any condition statement given, as a courtesy to a client, is only an opinion and should not be treated as a statement of fact. Skinner Inc. shall have no responsibility for any error or omission.


Capcom, David Scott, Joe Allen, Neil Armstrong, Ronald Evans, Edward Gibson, Apollo-Soyuz, James Irwin, James Lovell, Tom Stafford, Terry White, Kurt Debus, Eugene Cernan, Walter Cunningham, Charles Duke, Alfred Worden, Stuart Roosa, Rocco Petrone, Frank Borman, Eugene Kranz, Charles Conrad, Edgar Mitchell, Gordon Fullerton, Edwin "Buzz" Aldrin, Donald Slayton, Thomas Mattingly, Russell Schweickart, Alan Bean, Wernher von Braun, Bill Poque, Chester, Houston